stablished by Ordinance through Administration of Government, Chapter 15 (§15-99) for the protection, development or use of natural resources, including water resources, located within the territorial limits of the Township. The seven members and two alternates of this Commission are appointed by the Mayor. Their mission is to assess the environmental impact of development and inspect sites for natural features. This Commission works in conjunction with the Planning Department, Planning Board and Board of Adjustment.

The Commission oversees the Wetlands Environmental Center on Maple Road, which is maintained by the Township.  We also have collected downloadable information on the impact of our day-to-day activities on stormwater quality and other water issues. The Commission applies for and receives grants from various agencies, among which are the Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions (ANJEC), the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection Division of Watershed Management, as well as the Division of Forestry. The report from the Study of West Milford Lake is available for download.  Available on the Forms and Documents section is the TRAILS MASTER PLAN, the Environmental Commission's 2010 Annual Report to the Governing Body along with many other documents relating to environmental concerns.  Also access the Links section under Environmental for valuable information.

7:00 P.M.



January 4, 2021 *V

February 1, 2021 *V

March 1, 2021 *V

April 5, 2021 *V

May 3, 2021 *V

June 7, 2021 *V

July 12, 2021

August 2, 2021 *V

September 13, 2021

October 4, 2021

November 1, 2021

December 13, 2021

For information, contact Tonya Cubby 973-728-2798 or email [email protected]  

*Virtual Meeting Via Zoom

The Environmental Commission usually meets in the Town Hall main meeting room on the first Monday of each month, with some exceptions. Due to Covid-19, meetings may be required to be held virtually, via Zoom.  For Environmental Commission meeting dates and locations, access the Township Calendar or the Meeting Schedule on the Township website, as well as the Environmental Commission agendas.           


 Chairman:     Stephen Sangle

Members:   Janet Little, David Ofshinsky, James Rogers, Thomas Tamayne, Doug Trainor,  Don Weise

Alternates:    1st               2nd                     

Secretary:     Tonya E. Cubby